Skip to content
Secondary Content

Native American Remains Review Committiee

The Committee is composed of seven members, four appointed by the director from nominations submitted by Indian tribes, and three appointed by the director from nominations submitted by representatives of repositories. The members are appointed in staggered four year terms and do not receive any compensation or benefits beyond per diem.

The Committee monitors the identification process of human remains to ensure fair and objective consideration and assessment of all available relevant information and evidence; and reviews findings relating to the identity or cultural affiliation of Native American remains; or the return of Native American remains.  The Committee also facilitates the resolution of a dispute among Indian tribes or lineal descendants and state agencies relating to the return of Native American remains, including convening the parties to the dispute if considered desirable.  The Committee consults with Indian tribes and the Division in the development of Rules for state NAGPRA make recommendations, if appropriate, regarding care of Native American remains that are to be repatriated.

 

Board Members

State Representatives

Dorena Martineau, Chairwoman
The Paiute Tribe of Utah
440 N. Paiute Drive
Cedar City, UT 84720Phone: 435-586-1112
Fax: 435-586-7388
dorena.martineau@ihs.gov 
Shirlee Silversmith, Director
Utah Division of Indian Affairs
250 N. 1950 W., Suite A
Salt Lake City, UT 84116Phone: 801-715-6702
Fax: 801-715-6767
ssilversmith@utah.gov 
Rupert Steele
Goshute Indian Tribe
PO Box 6104
Ibapah, UT 84034Phone: 435-234-1138
rupertsteele@yahoo.com 
James Toledo
Division of Indian Affairs
250 N. 1950 W., Suite A
Salt Lake City, UT 84116Phone: 801-715-6702
Fax: 801-715-6767
amandarock@utah.gov 
Patti Timbimboo-Madsen
The Northwestern Band of Shoshoni Nation
707 N. Main Street
Brigham City, UT 84302Phone: 435-734-2286
Fax: 435-734-0424
ptimbimboo@nwshoshone-nsn.gov 
Lori Hunsaker
Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer
State History
300 S. Rio Grande Street
Salt Lake City, UT 84101Phone: 801-533-3555
lhunsaker@utah.gov 
Betsy Chapoose
The Ute Indian Tribe
PO Box 190
Fort Duchesne, UT 84026Phone: 435-722-4992
Fax: 435-722-2083
betsyc@utetribe.com 
Derinna Koop
Archaeologist
State History, Antiquities Section
300 S. Rio Grande Street
Salt Lake City, UT 84101Phone: 801-533-3519
dkopp@utah.gov 
Dr. Glenna Nielsen
Collection Manager, Anthropology
University of Utah
1390 E. Presidents Circle
Salt Lake City, UT 84112Phone: 801-581-3876
gnielsen@umnh.utah.edu 
Brad Westwood, Director
Utah Division of State History
300 S. Rio Grande Street
Salt Lake City, UT 84101Phone: 801-245-7248
bradwestwood@utah.gov
Paul Stavast
Museum of Peoples and Culture
Brigham Young University
100 E. 700 N.
Provo, UT 84602Phone: 801-422-0018
paul_stavast@byu.edu 

Resource Contacts

Jennifer Elsken
Cultural Resources Program Manager
Utah Department of Transportation
PO Box 148450
Salt Lake City, UT 84114

Phone: 801-518-4956
jelsken@utah.gov

Dr. Joan Brenner-Coltrain
University of Utah
Department of Anthropology
270 S. 1400 E., Room 102
Salt Lake City, UT 84112Phone: 801-581-8366
coltrain@anthro.utah.edu
Kenny Wintch
Lead Staff Archaeologist
Utah Trust Lands Administration
675 E. 500 S., Suite 500
Salt Lake City, UT 84102Phone: 801-538-5168
kennywintch@utah.gov