Skip to content
Secondary Content

Original Writing Competition Winners Announced – 16 Oct 2014

Utah Arts & Museums announces the winners of the 56th annual Utah Original Writing Competition. Selected from more than 250 entries received this year, 19 writers in seven categories will be receiving awards. They are:


  •  First place: ECKSDOT by J Washburn (Provo)
  •  Second place: Fragments of an Inner Architecture by Gene Washington (Logan)
  •  Honorable Mention: RedRedRedRed by Eric Howerton (Ogden)

Creative Nonfiction

  •  First place: An American (Homeless) in Paris by Christian Ames (Salt Lake)
  •  Second place: Befriending Laura Mae by Leisa Mukai (Salt Lake)
  •  Honorable Mention: Dancing Bird’s Apprentice by Patty Willis (Salt Lake)

Book of Poems

  •  First place: Eve’s Child by Markay Brown (St. George)
  •  Second place: Cold Blessings by Maximillian Werner (Salt Lake)

Juvenile Book

  •  First place: Keeping it Down by Lisa Roylance (Cedar Hills)
  •  Second place: Sula Eats the Sea by James Ure (Salt Lake)
  •  Honorable Mention: The Sun is on Fire! by Shane Williams (Washington)


  •  First place: “Inside Wolf, Grandmother Becomes a Dancer” by Shanan Ballam (Logan)
  •  Second place: “Bottle Cherries” by Candy Fowler (St. George)
  •  Honorable Mention: “Pretending to be interviewed, the monster gets choked up, tells the cameraman to shut the damn thing off.” by Natalie Young (Cedar City)

Short Story

  •  First place: “Adsila, Wyoming” by Iris Moulton (Salt Lake)
  •  Second place: “Two Shoes” by John Pace (Salt Lake)
  •  Honorable Mention: “For My Father II” by Jordan Floyd (West Jordan)

Narrative Nonfiction/Personal Essay

  •  First place: “Hourglass Man” by Aaron Allen (Orem)
  •  Second place: “Living the Dream” by Joshua Harms (Centerville)

“We sincerely congratulate these winners,” said Lynnette Hiskey, Director of Utah Arts & Museums. “We look forward to great accomplishments from such talented writers. Past winners have gone on to receive the Flannery O’Connor Award and the International Reading Association Award. These past awardees include Orson Scott Card, Ron Carlson, and all four Utah Poets Laureate: David Lee, Ken Brewer, Katharine Coles and Lance Larsen.”

Manuscripts were reviewed in a blind process by judges who reside outside of Utah. First- and second-prize winners are awarded prize money ranging from $150 to $1,000.

A day celebrating Utah writers and the Original Writing Competition will take place on Saturday, November 1, 2014 at the Utah Cultural Celebration Center, 1355 West 3100 South, West Valley City. There will be an awards ceremony, readings by 2013 competition winners, and a poetry-writing workshop with Utah Poet Laureate Lance Larsen.