Skip to content
Secondary Content

Winners of 2013 Utah Original Writing Competition Announced – 23 Oct 2013

Utah Arts & Museums announces the winners of the 55th annual Utah Original Writing Competition. Selected from more than 200 entries received this year, 21 writers in seven categories will be receiving awards. They are:

Novel, judged by Brian Evenson

First Place: The Ghost Town Preservation Society by Julie C. Simon (Cedar City)

Second Place: Nectar in a Sieve by Gene Washington (Logan)

Honorable Mention: Ransom by Spencer Hyde (Provo)

Biography/Autobiography/History, judged by Steven Davis

First Place: Peach Blossoms and Pearl Harbor by Afton L. Wilkins (Farmington)

Second Place: Mob Control – How I Almost Learned to Teach High School by Vickie S. Ericksen (Lehi)

Book-length Collection of Short Stories, judged by Becky Bradway

First Place: Robot Action Pinball by Jason P. Olsen (Price)

Second Place: These Things Are As Difficult As They Seem by Kate Elizabeth Finlinson (Salt Lake)

Honorable Mention: Look Me in the Stars by Christopher B. Husberg (Lehi)

Young Adult Book, judged by Kurtis Scaletta

First Place: Wink! A Mixed-Up Night’s Dream by Kelley J.P. Lindberg (Layton)

Second Place: The Cave Troll Man by John S. Bennion (Provo)

Honorable Mention: Poisoned Apple Inc. by Zach Largey (Orem)

Honorable Mention: The Nettle Spinner by Cathleen Barney (Orem)

Poetry, judged by David Romtvedt

First Place: “The Mailman in the Forest” by Lisa R. Roullard (Salt Lake)

Second Place: “Arrows Pointing Out the Moon” by Rob Carney (Salt Lake)

Honorable Mention: “The Marriage of the Moon and the Field” by Sunni B. Wilkinson (Ogden)

Short Story, judged by Eileen Pollack

First Place: “Empty” by Nate Liederbach (Salt Lake)

Second Place: “Gifted” by Rachel Borup (Salt Lake)

Honorable Mention: “Concentration Camp Stories for Doggies” by Anne Vinsel (Salt Lake)

Narrative Nonfiction/Personal Essay, judged by Michelle Seaton

First Place: “Manure” by Dianne Hardy (Logan)

Second Place: “A Mother’s Tale” by Betsy Lynn Ross (Salt Lake)

Honorable Mention: “Fog” by Lorraine Jeffery (Orem)

“We sincerely congratulate the winners of the 55th annual Original Writing Competition,” said Lynnette Hiskey, Director of Utah Arts & Museums. “We look forward to great accomplishments from these talented writers. Past winners have gone on to receive such accolades as the Flannery O’Connor Award and the International Reading Association Award. These past awardees include Orson Scott Card, Ron Carlson, and all four Utah Poets Laureate: David Lee, Ken Brewer, Katharine Coles and Lance Larsen.”

Manuscripts were reviewed in a blind process by judges who reside outside of Utah. First- and second-prize winners are awarded prize money ranging from $150 to $1,000. In a partnership with the University of Utah Press, the book-length non-fiction winning manuscript will be submitted to the press to consider for publication.

An afternoon for celebrating Utah writers and the Original Writing Competition will take place on Saturday, November 2, 2013 beginning at 1 p.m. with a workshop by Utah Poet Laureate Lance Larsen. The 2012 winners will read their work at 2 p.m., followed by the awards ceremony for the 2013 winners at 3:30 p.m. The event will take place at the Utah Cultural Celebration Center, 1355 West 3100 South, West Valley City.

For more information, contact the Literary Arts Program at (801) 533-5760.