Skip to content
Secondary Content

Winning Utah Student Artists to Exhibit Work at Utah Capitol – 11 Feb 2015

SALT LAKE CITY — Twenty-six high school students will be given awards to celebrate their participation in the Utah Senate Visual Arts Scholarship Competition on the floor of the Senate, Tuesday, Feb. 17, 2015 at 10:15 a.m. Each student will be presented their awards by their state senator. The event is in conjunction with Arts Day on the Hill.

Students were invited to submit art work with images of the Utah State Capitol in “celebration of Utah’s beautiful capitol building and in salute to the Utah Legislature working on behalf of Utah citizens.” The competition, an initiative of Senate President Wayne Niederhauser, is sponsored by the President’s office, Zions Bank, TAGA Corporation, Utah State Senate, Artworks for Kids, and the Utah Division of Arts and Museums.

“We were pleased with the amount of participation in this special art competition” says Utah Arts & Museums director Lynnette Hiskey. “Arts Day on the Hill is the perfect platform to showcase the bright and talented high school students in Utah and how the arts are an important part of their education.”

The winning art work will be exhibited on the third floor corridor of the Capitol through the 2015 Utah Legislative Session. The 1st place art work, Capitol Hill, a framed watercolor by Alyssa Bowman of Olympus High School in Granite School District, will remain permanently in the Utah Senate suite.

Scholarship awards of $5,000, $3,000, $1,000, $500 and $300 will be deposited into accounts for the students at the Utah Educational Savings Plan.

Students from Alpine, Beaver, Box Elder, Cache, Canyons, Davis, Emery, Granite, Iron, Jordan, Juab, Murray, Nebo, Ogden, Provo, Salt Lake City, San Juan, Washington, Weber School districts, charter and private schools participated – a total of 195 students from 20 of the 41 school districts.

The student winners are:
1st Place – Granite School District, Olympus High School – Alyssa Bowman

2nd Place – North Sanpete School District, North Sanpete High School – Keena Kleven

3rd Place – Salt Lake City School District, West High School – Chloe Kauffman

Honorable Mentions:
Nebo School District, Maple Mountain High School -Thomas Bastian
Granite School District, Cottonwood High School -Jessica Findlay
Iron School District, Cedar High School – Andrew Marchant
Davis School District, Sunset Jr. High – Madison Hawkins
Jordan School District, Bingham High School – Jeffrey Wang
Juan Diego Catholic High School, Sarah Liebrecht
Washington School District, Snow Canyon Middle School – Emily Schumacher
Emery County School District, Emery High School – Chase Fausett
Alpine School District, Timpanogos High School -Madeline Reinhard
Weber School District, Bonneville High School -Jessica L Moore
Alpine School District, Timpanogos High School – Rachel Miner
Granite School District, Skyline High School – Rebekah Ji Won Moon
Provo School District, Provo High School – Jennifer Spong
Davis School District, Woods Cross High School -McKenna Jensen
Paradigm High School, – Audrie Barlow
Juab School District, Juab High School – Kathryn Reese
Canyons School District, Hillcrest High School – Caroline-Anne Hollow
Davis School District, Bountiful High School – Ian Briggs
Murray School District, Murray High School – Mackenzie L Freeman
Beaver County School District, Beaver High School – Macayla Elwell
San Juan School District, San Juan High School – Isabelle Burge
Jordan School District, Bingham High School – Darcy Christiansen
Box Elder School District, Box Elder High School – Megan Davis

Arts Day on the Hill is an event administered by the Utah Cultural Alliance. The day will be filled with art-making, entertainment and networking for Utah’s arts communities and their legislators.