Skip to content
Secondary Content

Original Writing Competition

Since 1958, the Utah Original Writing Competition has awarded Utah writers for works of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry in a variety of forms. The competition’s mission is to aid Utah writers on their path to publication and broader recognition. Submissions must be original works and, with some exceptions, cannot be published or accepted for publication at the time of entry. Manuscripts are reviewed in a blind process by judges selected from outside of Utah. There is no entry fee, and it is open to all Utah residents age 18 and over.

Many thanks again to all who entered the 2016 Utah Original Writing Competition! We celebrated Utah writers at an awards event on November 5 at the Salt Lake City Library. Photos from the event are posted on Facebook HERE and on Google+ HERE.

Click HERE to see the list of 2016 winners.

Click HERE to see the list of 2016 judges and their bios.

Click HERE to see lists of past winners from 2000 to the present.

The 2017 competition will open in May. Until then, for reference, here are the 2016 guidelines.


Contact Alyssa Hickman Grove at or 801.236.7548.

Facebook Icon Literary Arts on Facebook