Skip to content
Secondary Content

Utah History Day Contest Results

The Mike Johnson Utah History Day Teacher of the Year Award

Since 2017, the Utah History Day Teacher of the Year Award is given each year in honor of Mike Johnson, Director, Utah History Fair, 1991-2006. Mike was respected and loved by the teachers and schools he served throughout the state, and he cultivated a dynamic approach to history education. Teachers who receive this annual award receive $500 from the Utah State Historical Society, and are nominated for National History Day’s James F. Harris Teacher of the Year Award. Learn more about Mike Johnson and his legacy.

Contest Results






2013 Teachers of the Year

  • Utah History Fair Teacher of the Year: Michael Wagner, Tabiona Public School
  • Utah History Fair Teacher of the Year: Jeff Low, Thomas Edison Charter School North, Logan
  • Patricia Behring Award Nominee: JoLyne Merchant, Thomas Edison Charter School South, Logan